30 June, 2013

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced, England and Wales will host the 2017 World Test Championship.

The ICC confirmed that the new competition will replace the 50-over Champions Trophy.

"The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) will host the inaugural event in June/July 2017, while the second edition will be held in India in February/March 2021," an ICC statement read.

"The ICC Champions Trophy in England and Wales was highly acclaimed and appreciated by all," ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said.
"However, the principle of one pinnacle global event for each of the three formats over a four-year cycle is a good one and, as such, the ICC Board has agreed to replace the Champions Trophy with the ICC World Test Championship.
"Now that the ICC World Test Championship has been confirmed, we'll work on the playing conditions and qualification criteria, and will submit these to the ICC Board for approval in due course."

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Posts | Subscribe to Comments

Lets Get Social..!

Get the Cricket-cup Feed    Like Us on Facebook        Cricket-cup on Twitter   

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Total Hits